Due Date + 2

No baby pictures.  Not yet.  Nope.  Nothing to show you except how big my belly has gotten in the past few weeks…

This picture was taken 12/29/10:DSC04337 And yes ladies, I’m rocking jeggings…don’t hate!

This picture was taken last night: 01/16/11

DSC04355Holy belly growth spurt!  I guess I didn’t realize how much my belly has grown over the past few weeks until I took one good look at these pictures.  Wowza!  I’ll be sure to pack both a newborn and 0-3 month outfit for the hospital, because we might have a little full-sized toddler on our hands!  haha.  The good news is that other than a few nights of no sleep, I still feel great!  At this point, I’m kind WANTING a little discomfort so I can begin preparing myself to get into ‘the zone’ of this upcoming delivery.

Am I ready?  People, I’m beyond ready.  So ready that I downloaded this iPad application this weekend:DSC04362Friends, the top of that screen reads:  CONTRACTION TIMER.  Not only does it track individual contractions – well, you have to start and stop the time – but it will track how many I am having an hour, show a graph of my progress, etc.  This will be an important tool as we are going to do our best to labor at home until we reach the recommended 5-1-1 rule  – when contractions are five minutes apart, lasting one minute for one hour.  That just sounds intense!  My only concern is that Coach will be timing my contractions on the iPad only to get side-tracked by the ongoing Scrabble game we currently have going between Coach’s brother and my sister-in-law!  I’ll have to be sure he’s staying the course and all business! 

To be completely honest, I’m not necessarily ready for the birth/labor part of the next few days but I’m TOTALLY ready to meet this little one.  Every time I get a foot in the ribs or elbow across the belly, I wince, take a deep breath and then wonder what the little being will be….boy or girl, a lot of hair or none, looking more like Coach or me?  So yes, it’s time for me to get some answers to these questions.  Coach and I have already talked through what attributes we hope this baby will get from each of us, without being too choosy of course!  Seriously though, what baby wouldn’t want this humor?  Kidding!

Dinner with Friends

Last night Coach and I went to some friends for dinner and games.  You may remember our friends (Becky and Mitch) from birth class who had a baby Reese the first part of December…remember?  Okay, well we went to their house.   I was SO happy to get out of the house and enjoy some adult conversation while staring at precious little Reese!  Becky and Mitch had another couple over, so that adds a few more people to our friends list in STL.  Yes…movin on up!  Coach and I learned a new game as well last night called Wits and Wagers.  I’m always looking for a good game to add to our game closet, which now only consists of just Catch Phrase and Bananagrams, so I was happy to have found this new gem.  I consider myself a gamer and enjoy sitting down with friends and family to play a good game every now and then.  Shoot…I even enjoy putting puzzles together!  Maybe it’s the camper in me. Who knows!

Tire Drama

Yes, we are still having drama with Coach’s tire.  After a two-hour wait at Wal-Mart on Friday (the epitome of Hell-on-Earth ) I learned that we needed a new tire.  Revelation!  However, the tire man suggested that I find a used tire shop in the area to purchase the tire, otherwise he had to sell me a new one.  Now…some of you who know Coach and I personally realize this man could EASILY tell by the looks of Coach’s ride that we are driving until it’s ultimate death.  For those of you who don’t know us too well, the car is nearing the end of it’s life, so don’t consider Mr. Tireman a total genius. 

So today I spent a good chunk of time calling around to local tire shops in search of a P195/65R15 tire (am I sounding like a gearhead or what?).  As a woman, I always feel like I should do ALL my research before calling an auto body shop.  Not only do I not want to sound like a complete blonde (because I am not!), but I also want to be sure I am paying for ONLY the things I need.  Granted online discussion boards are probably not ALWAYS completely a true indicator of what is going on with my car, but at least it gives me a little background/insight on the situation.

After not finding ONE PLACE who sold used tires, I came across website of a used tire distribution house in the area….like the place that sells used tires to the places I was calling.  So I called them and asked for a reference in the area.  Not surprisingly, no one in our county sells used tires (at least not through them).  But the man was very helpful and provided me the name and number of an auto shop who could help me out.  To make a long story longer, I have a date tomorrow morning at 8:00 am with the auto mechanic to purchase this $35 tire (which includes instillation and balancing!)!  He knows about the baby and said we could reschedule the appointment if I go into labor tonight.  I like this place already!  So thoughtful!

The Chair

I wanted to show ya’ll a picture of my sweet chair now that it’s officially been moved INTO the baby’s room.  Coach had quite an interesting experience moving this thing through the doorway himself (because it glides AND swivels!), but he was successful in his task!  Sometimes, when it comes to moving heavy objects, it’s so much easier to be on the ladies’ end and just direct traffic.  Anyway, here it is again looking adorable!

DSC04358DSC04359

By the way, you will notice President Obama’s book called Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to my Daughters in the first picture by the lamp.  Before some of you grown and/or sigh, let me just tell you a little about this book – a gift from my parents when I completed my Masters degree.  In his book, President O talks about the many people (I call them heros!) who have laid a solid foundation for people like his daughters to be who they are today and whatever they want to be in the future.  The whole story is beautifully written and something I will read to my child very soon!  However, my favorite part of the book is the beginning where both of parents wrote the kindest notes to me, quickly making this book a gift I will treasure forever!  You go through your whole life hoping to make your parents proud.  I know both of my parents would have liked to have gotten their Masters degree, but sacrificed that dream to raise a family.  Therefore, to graduate with my Masters was a commitment I made to them (informally), which was to follow through on something they put aside to raise AL and I. 

Anyway, if you are at a book store anytime soon…check it out and let me know what you think.  It’s a wonderful gift for any parent to their child, but especially if you have a daughter.

And in honor of one of the people discussed in the book:

Martin Luther King Jr.“Never, never be afraid to do what’s right, especially if the well-being of a person or animal is at stake. Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.”
Martin Luther King Jr.

So true!

Louise

Daily Obsessions:

  • One of the things I like about allrecipes.com is that for each recipe, I can read how others have tweaked their version to make it better or what substitutions they made because they didn’t have one product or another.  I love substitutes!  Here is a substitute that I plan to bookmark for future use or for those mornings that I am REALLY craving a good old sloppy plate of biscuits and gravy.  via dealseekingmom.com
  • Not that I’m completely mature, but I do feel as though the days of reading the latest hair tricks in Cosmopolitan Magazine are past me…sadly.  But if you’re still lovin’ those crazy stories, you can get it on Amazon right now for $5/year.
  • Do you have a birthday coming up?  One of the blogs I read has compiled a list of TONS of restaurants and stores who send you coupons, etc. to help celebrate your birthday.  Check out the list and subscribe to the restaurants/stores that interest you!  WARNING:  I am assuming your inbox is going to get bombarded with weekly emails in addition to your birthday coupon…so choose wisely!
  • How cute are these flower ‘bows’ – great for a wedding shower gift!
3 thoughts on “Due Date + 2

  1. Bev says:

    I cannot wait to meet this little Baby H. What a wonderful mommy an daddy this little one will have. Thanks for the birthday coupons. Mine is coming up on Feb. 13th!! 39 again and again and again. I hope your next post is the time weight and name of the new little one. Take care
    Bev

  2. MOM says:

    I love the pictures of you—Baby-Baby come on out!!! The new chair needs a momma and baby to sit and do some lovin’—See you soon Baby!
    Love Ya—MOM

  3. Lyndsey says:

    That belly change is intense!! Can’t wait to see pics of the baby and his/her family! Good luck with the labor!

Leave a Reply

