Friday Freakouts

There are two things in my life that I have a love/hate relationship with…computers and cars.  I guess my waistline could also be thrown into that mix as well…but let’s all try to be positive in 2011, okay?  haha.  Unfortunately today, both of the enemies mentioned above completely tested my patience level.  Coach’s car tire is still not holding air, so as soon as I finish this post I will be heading to Wal-Mart (another arch-nemesis) to purchase a new tire set.  Fun, fun!  It’s one thing to have to pick up something at Wal-Mart and it’s ANOTHER if you are stuck there while your car is getting fixed.

Then as I’m trying to finish my morning work, my internet decides to start and stop which caused me to have to restart my computer over, over and OVER.  What the?  It’s Friday and I’m supposed to be enjoying the day!  Come on computer!  This disaster let me to spend my afternoon downloading a newer security software to fight any and everything that was going on inside my PC.  Luckily I figured the problem out (I think) and we should be good going forward.  One of the downsides to working at home is the lack of a tech-department.  I mean…I’m it!  Let’s just hope this new anti-virus solves the issue for awhile. 

So long as I’m complaining…let’s just keep-a-rollin!  There were two things about our house that still drive me completely insane…

  1. All of our lights are indirect – meaning you HAVE to have lamps to turn on a light.  There are NO overhead lights.  Crazy, huh?  I guess it’s great for any feng shui aesthetics in the room, but not for someone who just wants some light!  My father-in-law did manage to put a fan/light fixture in our bedroom after we moved in, so that is a plus but the rest of the rooms have lamps and old-school oscillating fans.  So if you plan to visit us in the future…get over that now! 
  2. The second thing that drives me crazy is the lack of phone outlets.  Now…we don’t have phones, but we have wireless internet that needs a phone jack!  My only option was to have the extremely-flashy-neon-green-light-up wireless router put in our bedroom (by Coach’s side of the bed…which he loves!).  We have wireless throughout our house, but it’s much slower downstairs than it is upstairs.  Oh well, I’ll deal! 

Don’t get me wrong…I LOVE our house, but it’s just been one of those days.  Until…

Surprise Delivery

You know how there are people in your life who are just the best and most extraordinary gift givers?  Well, I have a friend who is one of those people.  Never, ever, EVER in my lifetime will I be able to reciprocate her kind gestures and she knows that…believe me, I’ve told her to stop giving things to me for that reason alone!  Anyway, I received a phone call a few days ago saying there was going to be a special delivery for me on Friday morning.  So today I get all dressed up and wait patiently by the door to see what this delivery could be?  Well, I also waited because I wanted to apologize to the delivery men for not having the front stairs completely shoveled.  I was feeling a little guilty, I guess.  I mean really, how does a couple from Nebraska not even own a shovel?  I’ll put it on my Christmas list!  So the van pulls up, the men open the back doors and I yell, “You’ve got to be kidding me?”  One of the movers whips around and says, “Oh no, is it the wrong item?”  I laughed and said, “No!  I just didn’t know what was getting delivered and I’m SHOCKED this is what you are delivering to me.”  The guys looked relieved as I’m sure they were thinking I was some overbearing housewife who was just waiting to complain to them about my delivery.  ANYWAY, this is what was delivered to my doorstep today:DSC04342Yes my friends, that is an amazingly sweet rocker/glider for the baby’s room!  Here is a closer look at the Cow Jumped Over The Room print:

DSC04343Are you kidding me?  Stinking adorable. 

Needless-to-say, I quickly called my friend and FREAKED OUT over the gift.  Not only was it so precious, but it was much more than I was anticipating.  I tried to say no but she insisted.  So…THANK YOU Dana for the  perfect addition to our nursery.  Love you.

Recipe Search

I am looking for some good freezer meals to make with ground beef/turkey.  Does anyone have any good recipes?  I need to search onceamonthmom.com or allrecipes.com for something tasty, but if you have a recommendation, send it to me…PLEASE!  I promise to make it, review it and share it with the blog family.  While we are talking about ground turkey…have you tried it?  It’s cheaper than ground beef and ultimately tastes the same (a little drier).  I was going to write about how much better turkey is for you, but after doing a little research I found there is a large debate over this topic!    Everything I Google’d came back the same answer…ground turkey is comparable to the leanest ground beef available at the store.  So never mind that end of the argument!  Gosh, this whole time I thought I was being so healthy only to have my blog tell me that I’ve been fooled!  Darn it.

That’s all I have today.  Not much going on around here. 

Thank you to my friend Lyndsay who shared her resolutions!  Can’t wait to see how 2011 turns out for you, girl.  From the sounds of it, you rang in the New Year with a fresh start!

Movie Review

Did anyone see The King’s Speech?  I NEED to see it before the Oscars because it’s the talk these days.  If you’ve seen it, I’d LOVE to hear what you thought of the movie and if it’s worth all of the accolades it’s been getting in the press.

Daily Obsessions:

  • Old Navy is continuing their post-Christmas sales, in-store.  Check it out.
  • Are you planning to hit-up the malls this weekend?  If so, be sure to check here first for any in-store coupon.

Let’s hope I have some baby pictures to post on Monday!

Louise

2 thoughts on “Friday Freakouts

  1. KIG says:

    Yay for Dana! That is perfect, and will be so comfy. We still love our “gliders” (which are actually made in a company in INDIANA!) and are wonderful for reading books to little ones.

    To answer your plea, I love this recipe and my kids both eat it up:
    http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1639,144161-255192,00.html

    Let me say that sometimes I skip the sauteeing the onions step and just mix everything together and bake it, and I’ve never made the glaze and it is still yummy. Perfet with glazed carrots and mashed potatoes. AND, for good nutritional measure, if you stick a couple ice cubes of frozen spinach puree (a la The Sneaky Chef style) no one complains.

    Let me know if you try it.

    Thinking of you and even though you don’t post on weekends, checking in daily until there is news. Very few first babies are “on time” (I always reminded myself and others they don’t have a calendar in there) but you never know.

  2. KIG says:

    Oops, and also forgot to mention that I use homemade chunky applesauce or low-sugar applesauce instead of messing with grating apples. Although making applesauce from scratch is a bit more labor intensive than just grating apples, but then you also have leftover applesauce, right?

Leave a Reply

